A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall

by just 'Hooper'

dylan72

I’ve been planning an illustration project for a little while for some of my students to tackle sometime in the next year. I’ve always been taken by the lyrical content of Dylan’s ‘A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall’ and the potential imagery that each line could conjure up – in fact Dylan himself said in the albums sleeve-notes – “Every line in it is actually the start of a whole new song. But when I wrote it, I thought I wouldn’t have enough time alive to write all those songs so I put all I could into this one.”

The notion will be to form a publication with individual students interpreting each of the  40-odd lines to form a collected set of visuals, and to see whether the imagery can be as impactful as the lyrics themselves.

To kick start it I’ve illustrated the cover (above) and will collate and design the book’s layout. I’ll post progress – but it may be a while before I can work it into the schedule.

